Fear and Communication in the US

Initially, I wanted to write a post that broke down piece by piece, debunked, and vented about a “conversation” I had with another blogger.  It was terrible.  I tried to stand up for my beliefs which are inclusive and kind and based in knowledge, and I ended up having the most illogical and abusive conversation.  The last thing said by the other party was “I hope this conversation stays with you” and damn it, didn’t that have the same effect as saying “Do not picture your mother naked.”  AH!  GOD!  WHY DID YOU SAY THAT?!?!

And yes, that conversation has stayed in my mind and stuck in my craw.  The facts are, having a discussion with this person “blog to blog” did absolutely no good and neither will writing about it here.

So I’m not going to.  Kind of.

I need to talk about one aspect of it, and many, many other conversations I’ve been in and over heard lately.  This includes the way Trump communicates; for example his “talk, talk, talk, and no action” ramblings towards John Lewis which were nothing but throwing cluster bombs meant to disorient an injure.

The most important aspect of “All of this” are the things that frighten me.  That’s what I want to talk about.  What I’m scared of.

  1.  Venom:

Political conversations have been very charged since the primaries.  More so then usual or so it seems to me.  Charged politics, in my opinion, is good for a country like ours.  I’ve always been proud of my country because we have been told we can think and speak for ourselves.  Well, now that is being threatened.  One of the things threatening it is venom.  People are lashing out with such hatred.  The argument has to be won!  The other person has to be shamed and more importantly silenced.  People are going for each others jugular.

I have heard this quote a lot lately:

“Most people do not listen with the intent to understand; they listen with the intent to reply.”
Stephen R. Covey, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change

Well, I don’t even see people listening at all any more.  How can we learn?  How can we understand?  We can’t “walk a mile in someone’s shoes” before we judge them.  Right now good fences (or walls) are not making good neighbors.  Neither is trying to talk it out.  I’m stuck between feeling the need for us to come together in understanding and the need to absolutely not condone hatefulness and a lack of at least a live and let live attitude.  And people in marginalized groups are suffering greatly for that.

 

2.  Why can’t we just be honest?

I wish I can say this isn’t true but I would have a begrudging respect for someone who would just come out and say “I think transgenderism is wrong because I believe in Jesus and my pastor told me its wrong and my religion means a lot to me and I like to brandish it as a weapon to win any argument.”  Or “I think a man should just act like a man.”  That’s how low my expectations have come.

Instead, sneaky, sneaky things are being done.  I can see through them for days but the tactics are still so frightening.  People on both sides, left and right, are trying to make change happen.  They way the “alt right” is doing it is scary.

For example, in this argument I had that I am not writing about, a religious figure of some kind was on youtube talking about the National Geographic article about gender in which there is a young boy who feels like he is a girl and dresses like one and says she is one.

The parents of that child were accused in this video of child abuse!  The abuse was letting a young child be on hormone drugs and encouraging a sex change and encouraging a transgendered identity.

NONE OF THAT IS WHAT THOSE PARENTS DID.  ALL THEY DID WAS LET THEIR CHILD EXPRESS HERSELF THE WAY SHE WANTED TO.

This is such a fear tactic.  The term child abuse was thrown around so many times, it was used to bludgeon me, I was accused of being a child abuser myself.  Twice.  Like, the fuck?  They are trying to use the stereotype of brain washing – like camps they would send kids to to scare the gay out of them -against the left.  Now the Left is trying to brain wash kids into being transgendered?  The. Actual. Fuck.

I just need to say right now:

THE BLOGGER WHO POSTED THIS HAD NOT EVEN READ THE ARTICLE.

The blogger didn’t want to.  He or she just wanted to help put an end to it no matter what.

Deeeeeeeeep breath.

Using fear to win a political debate…this is how Gaston got everyone riled up to go to the castle to kill The Beast.  This is how Hitler…I don’t even need to finish that sentence do I?

 

But number three is the most important thing:

3.  Absolute outright utter deception:

Will people stop at nothing?

I was asked by another blogger to “please for the love of everything holy, (or not I don’t care) read this:

https://www.acpeds.org/the-college-speaks/position-statements/gender-ideology-harms-children

If you click on that link you will find the American College of Pediatricians.

You will sit there thinking: This is the official medical field’s opinion?  A field that should put the child’s health before politics?

NOOOOOO!  It’s not!  It’s actually a hate group.  This looks and sounds very much like the professional organization of mainstream unbiased doctors.  IT IS NOT.  This is:

https://www.aap.org/en-us/Pages/Default.aspx

and this is what they have to say:

Parenting a Gender Non-Conforming Child

There is no way to predict how a child will end up identifying him or herself later in life. This uncertainty is one of the hardest things about parenting a gender non-conforming child. It is important for parents to make their home a place where their child feels safe and loved unconditionally. Research suggests that gender is something we are born with; it can’t be changed by any interventions. It is critically important that children feel loved and accepted for who they are.

 

Please read this.

Do your research please people!

It is amazing how much this group is putting in effort to not accept and make sure others also don’t accept this group as healthy individuals who see life differently.  This group also “believes life starts at conception” and that gay parents shouldn’t be allowed to adopt.  Which is fine.  I don’t agree but fine.  Make it clear on your website that your organization is different then the actual organization and that you are a conservative christian group.  The website goes very far to hide those facts.  The fact that they are actually a hate group. They even kept their name as close as possible.  The American College of Pediatricians is the conservative, alt-right group, and The American Academy of Pediatrics is the professional organization.  This is a very example of why separation of church and state is so important.  Imagine if the former ran things and not the latter?

I want to make it clear that I know not all Christians think this way.  Also, I understand this group is at least partially made up of doctors.  But they are not the mainstream official, researched, unbiased opinion of the current medical field.

 

paine

I swear. This world was more accepting of diversity when I was younger.  I swear we are going backwards.  We need to communicate with respect and love (and a lot more common sense.)  Otherwise, this trend is going to continue.

One thought on “Fear and Communication in the US

Leave a Reply

